Friday, February 26, 2010

Tip of the Day: Alcohol Can Contain Egg Whites

Many people are not aware that some alcoholic beverages are clarified with egg whites, especially wines. However, beers and spirits can be clarified with egg whites as well. If you are allergic to eggs you will want to avoid all alcoholic beverages because they do not list their ingredients or their beverage making process. But if you would really like to know if there is something out there you are able to sip on I suggest calling the manufacturer and speaking with someone on their staff who has the exact knowledge of each step of their alcohol making process. My suggestion is to ask the representative if they carry any vegan products (make sure they know that vegan means no animal products and also let the person know you have an allergy to eggs).

Nicolle Avery

1 comment:

  1. I am allergic to eggs and I did know that sometimes coffee was clarified with egg...but I hadn't heard about alcohol products. I don't drink, but it is interesting. (:>)

    Thanks! Keep the info coming.